Wildcats Year End Banquet Celebration

The Edmonton Wildcats held their year end banquet this past weekend to celebrate a very successful season having gone all the way to the National Championship Finals. There is plenty of optimism for next year has the Wildcats have roughly 55 returning players to compete for the Nation Title which will be hosted by the winner of the PFC conference in 2010.

The Wildcats honored some of their own at last weekend’s banquet and were presented with individual team awards for the various performances on the field in 2009. The winners are as follows:

Big Kahuna Special Teams Player: Ben Hnidan – Kicker
Rookie of the Year: Jerit Lambert – REC
Peter Smith Award: Michael Wojcicki – REC
Jay Meraw Trophy: Dylan Graff – DL
Most Valuable Back: Justin McEvoy – RB
Most Valuable Lineman: Matt Lalande – LB
Most Valuable Player: Matt Lalande- LB

The Wildcats also honored their 2009 graduating players and their 5 year graduates as well. They are as follows:

2009 Graduating class:
#1 Mike Wojcicki – REC
#9 Andy Pilon – QB*
#10 Patrick Schiller – DB
#14 Ben Hnidan – K
#32 Liam Mahoney – RB*
#36 Dylan Graff – DL*
#58 Dylan Little – LB
#64 Jay Bradley – OL*
#65 Keegan Sabourin – OL

* denotes 5 year player

The Wildcats were honored at the Canadian Bowl Banquet in Nanaimo at the beginning of the month with 4 Wildcats taking All Canadian Honors. They are as follows:

All Canadian (CJFL):
#11 Corbin Sharun – DB
#14 Ben Hnidan – K
#23 Kevin Wuthrich – REC
#50 Steve Prodan – OL

CJFL Rookie of the Year:
#3 Jerit Lambert – REC

The PFC awards in Saskatoon also honored 10 Wildcats for their excellent play in 2009. They are as follows:

PFC Offensive All-Stars:
#3 Jerit Lambert – REC
#14 Ben Hnidan – Place Kicker
#23 Kevin Wuthrich – REC
#33 Justin McEvoy – RB

PFC Defensive All-Stars:
#11 Corbin Sharun – DB
#24 David Berg – DB
#45 Mike Podloski – LB
#92 Steven Giang – DL

PFC Rookie All-Stars:
#3 Jerit Lambert – REC
#14 Ben Hnidan – K
#14 Ben Hnidan – P

PFC Outstanding Offensive Back:
#9 Andy Pilon – QB

PFC Rookie of the Year:
#3 Jerit Lambert – REC

PFC Outstanding Receiver:
#23 Kevin Wuthrich – REC

Here’s wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas, happy holidays and a bright and prosperous New Year. Looking forward to seeing you all out next year to support the 2010 Edmonton Wildcats


Stuart Gibson
Edmonton Wildcats Media Coordinator
Phone (780) 221-3671 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              (780) 221-3671      end_of_the_skype_highlighting begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              (780) 221-3671      end_of_the_skype_highlighting