CJFL Major Award Winners



Friday November 6, 2015

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is proud to announce their Major Award winners for the 2015 season.  The awards were handed out Friday night at the Jostens Banquet of Champions in Saskatoon, SK.

The award winners are:

Gord Currie Coach of the Year
Shane Beatty – Okanagan Sun – for the second consecutive year Shane Beatty is honoured as his club has not lost a game this season.  The Sun were 10-0 during the regular season and a perfect 2-0 in the playoffs outscoring the opposition 129-7.  Beatty led the Sun to the first BCFC title in 11 seasons and a berth in the Canadian Bowl.

Rookie of the Year
Tony Savchuk – Edmonton Wildcats – 29 tackles, 4 assists, 1 sack, 2 knockdowns, 1 forced fumble, 5 interceptions

Peter Dalla Riva Outstanding Offensive Player
Derek Yachison –Kamloops Broncos – 73 catches, 1026 yards and 14 touchdowns

Larry Wruck Outstanding Defensive Player
Cole Benkic – Saskatoon Hilltops – 19 tackles, 13 assists, 0.5 sacks, 3 knockdowns, 2 fumble recoveries, three interceptions, one for a touchdown

CJFL Past Commissioners Award
Brandon Quach – Edmonton Wildcats

CJFL Stewart MacDonald Executive of the Year
Jim Pankovich – CJFL Commissioner

CJFL Life Member
Randy O’Shaughnessy

CJFL Ed Henick Meritorious Service Award
Bob Bula – Edmonton Huskies

The 2015 Canadian Bowl will kick-off Saturday November 7, 2015 at 1:00pm at SMF Field in Saskatoon, SK.


Watch the pay-per-view online at www.cjfl.org.

Listen to the Saskatoon radio broadcast at CJWW 600 in Saskatoon or the Okanagan Sun radio broadcast at AM 1150 in Kelowna

Courtesy of the Canadian Junior Football League