Wes Montgomery Award

The Edmonton Wildcats are honoured to have a fifth year player, Kael Schryver, awarded the Wes Montgomery award this year. This honour is awarded each year to a player in Junior Football who exhibits success both academically and athletically.

Kael joined the Wildcats in 2009 from Salisbury Composite High School in Sherwood Park. He quickly established himself as a reliable part of the secondary and was a key contributor to the 2009 team that went on to win the PFC Championship and Intergold Championship. In 2012 Kael participated in the Edmonton Eskimo rookie camp and was named one of the Wildcats team captains. Off the field, Kael has been a member of the Wildcat leadership group since 2011, and is looked up to and respected by his peers. He is currently in his third year of mechanical engineering at the University of Alberta.

Kael has shown strong leadership both on and off the field, and this combined with his loyalty to the Wildcats has contributed to his being awarded this honor. We are proud that Kael will join former players Tristan Jones, Kevin Wuthrich, and Steven Giang as previous winners of the Wes Montgomery Award as it is the most prestigious award an Edmonton Junior Football player can win.